Everything You Need to Know About City of Calgary Council Election 2021

City of Calgary Council Election 2021

An election to elect a mayor and fourteen councilors to the Calgary City Council is planned to take place on October 18, 2021, and will be held in Calgary, Alberta. In addition to the City of Calgary council election 2021, residents will vote for trustees on the Calgary Board of Education and the Calgary Catholic School District, as well as for a vote on fluoridation of water, a provincially mandated Senate nominee election, a referendum on equalization, and a referendum on whether to abolish daylight saving time.

A fifteen-member elected body, Calgary City Council, administers the City of Calgary under the council-manager system of government.

The Mayor, who is elected at large and serves as the recognized Chief Elected Official, directs the affairs of the Council.

By virtue of the Municipal Government Act, the Mayor is regarded as a full-fledged member of the Council; the only major authority granted to him is de facto membership on all of the Council Committees. 

How are they chosen?

A total of fourteen Councillors were chosen by the people of the fourteen wards that divide Calgary to make up the remaining members of the City Council.

The municipal election in Calgary is conducted using the first-past-the-post system of voting, in which the candidate who receives the most votes is elected to a four-year term.

The municipal election in Calgary in 2021 will be the 103rd in the city’s history, making it the most recent municipal election.

How many wards are there?

In addition to the Mayor, there are 14 city councilors, one for each of Calgary’s 14 wards. The Mayor is elected by the people of Calgary. City of Calgary council election 2021 is elected to represent the interests of the people of their ward when the Council makes decisions that have an impact on the local and wider community. In addition, city councilors serve on a number of boards, commissions, and committees across the city.

Who are the councilors of the Calgary elections?

Another incumbent has declared their desire to seek for re-election in the next municipal election in Calgary in October. Gian-Carlo Carra, who has served as the Ward 9 representative since 2010, submitted his nomination papers this week.

Only Ward 2 Councilor Joe Magliocca remains on the fence, while the other 14 members of the city council and one Mayor have already declared their intentions.

Ms. Magliocca was embroiled in an expenditure controversy when an independent forensic audit discovered that he had submitted claims for meetings at a Federation of Canadian Municipalities convention in Quebec that had not taken place.

Seven councilors will be standing for re-election to ensure that they keep their seats:

  • Ward Sutherland (Ward 1)
  • Sean Chu (Ward 4)
  • Mr. George Chahal (Ward 5) 
  • Mr. Jeff Davison (Ward 6) 
  • Mr. Gian-Carlo Carra (Ward 9)
  • Peter Demong (Ward 14) 
  • Diane Colley Urquhart (Ward 13) 

Councillors Jyoti Gondek (Ward 3) and Jeromy Farkas (Ward 11) are competing for Mayor against each other.

Three additional candidates, Druh Farrell (Ward 7), Evan Woolley (Ward 8), and Shane Keating (Ward 12), have decided not to run this year, while Mayor Naheed Nenshi has also decided not to run.

There are 61 individuals who have registered to run in the 14 wards, and 12 people have registered to run for Mayor, according to the most recent figures.


Those interested in running for the City of Calgary council election 2021 must submit their nomination papers to the City of Calgary by September 20, 2021, in order to be considered for inclusion on the ballot.